Doggie Daydreams

Daydreaming Dog

What were you thinking!?  Ever been asked that question?  When you here it the way I’ve often heard it, the question is not really meant to be answered.  Its more an expression of exasperation, sort of a polite way of calling you a dim wit, numbskull, fool, pudding head, dolt, retard, idiot, dumbkoph, nincompoop, dumbass, ignoramus, knucklehead, no-mind, lame brain, dullard, etc.  When that happens its best to just put your ears down, tail between your legs, shut your mouth and wait for the storm to pass.

I’d like to ask my dog that question sometimes, not in a derogatory way, but just to know what goes through her head.  She’s probably not as smart as I give her credit for, but she sure seems to know what I’m saying, what mood I’m in, and even know what I’m thinking.  So, why can’t I understand what she’s saying and thinking?

She’ll sit there, staring out the window for long periods of time — like I do sometimes, but when I do it I’d like to think I’m organizing my thoughts.   Does she think she’s a sentry on guard duty, in charge of protecting her master’s estate?  Is she dreaming of rolling around in the soft grass, hiding a bone, or picking out the next bush to mark as her own?  Maybe she’s waiting for a new friend to come by, someone she hasn’t met so she can force herself on them, show off for them, and look real playful and friendly until they give her the attention she feels she deserves.  Maybe she’s pouting for getting kicked off the couch.  I bet she’s dreaming about winning Best in Show at next year’s Westminster Dog Show.

The dog will sit there motionless, not move a muscle for hours.  Maybe she’s fantasizing about catching the squirrel that harassess her every waking moment, like she’s a predator lying in ambush for its prey.  Once in a while she’ll get animated when she sees something moving in the yard, but generally she appears aloof.  Reading doggie body language can be tough.

What was she thinking!?

Thought for the DayThe reason a dog has so many friends is that he wags his tail instead of his tongue.  Anonymous

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Odds & Ends and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

