Half-Mast

half-mast

It was a picture perfect day today: mild temperatures, low humidity, and crystal-clear brilliant blue sky.  Eerily, it was just how I remembered the weather on this day ten years ago — September 11, 2001.

Before 8:00 AM, I was at a city park where I noticed the lone flag pole.  Old Glory was hanging at half-mast, honoring those who died on 9/11 and those who have given their lives since in defence of freedom.  But the flag was so limp, I wondered if history was about to repeat itself in some ugly way.  I’d never seen such a lifeless United States flag.

I would have felt better if the flag had been flying at half-mast instead of just hanging there.  The flag looked sad, almost as if it was grieving, looking like it couldn’t carry on.  If the flag had a face, I’d say it looked defeated and it depressed me while I looked at it.

I told myself that it was only at half-mast, not totally down; it was down but not out, and it would soon rise again to the top of the flag pole and lift the nation’s spirit as it waved proudly o’er the land as a symbol of democracy, freedom, good over evil, etc.

Sure enough, an hour later it had unfurled and was its old self again.  That made me feel a lot better.

Thought for the DayIlligitimus Non Carborundi  Latin Proverb (translation: Don’t let the bastards wear you down.)

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Photojournalism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Half-Mast

  1. JSD says:

    Thank you. You have a way with words that speaks so beautifully from the heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

