What Is It?

Mystery Flower

Mystery Flower

Anybody know what this flower is is called?  I took this picture about two years ago in the flower garden of a local Midwest newspaper columnist.  The plant is bush-like, standing approx. 3 ft. high, and apparently does well in full sun.  The spike-like bloom is 6-8″ long. The photo was taken in early September.   (I knew its name when I took the photo, but, geez, that was over two years ago.)

I had this shot in my “Photos to Work On” file, and decided to use it to experiment with backgrounds, textures and blending modes.  I like the way it turned out.

If there are any florists, horticulturists, Master Gardeners or backyard farmers out there that can identify this for me, I’d appreciate hearing from you.  Please, no Latin names.  Thanks.

Thought for the Day:  Son, you’ve got a good engine, but your hands aren’t on the steering wheel.     Bobby Bowden,  Florida St. football coach

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Plants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What Is It?

  1. gandhgolter@q.com says:

    Looking through a Gardener’s Bible that the kids gave me it appears to resemble a celosia  (Orgentea Cristata) which does bloom in the fall.  The height and color seem to match. I think I will try to buy some seed and see what happens.  I’ll keep you posted.  Gerald

    To: gandhgolter@q.com Sent: Thursday, April 11, 2013 8:07:44 AM Subject: [New post] What Is It?

    Larry’s blog posted: ” Anybody know what this flower is is called?  I took this picture about two years ago in the flower garden of a local Midwest newspaper columnist.  The plant is bush-like, standing approx. 3 ft. high, and apparently does well in full sun.  The spike-li”

    Like

  2. Mike Headley says:

    Barb is curious if her guess was correct . . . (or could you even verify?)

    Like

  3. Mike Headley says:

    Forgot to add the scientific name is: Cimicifuga. Barb

    Like

  4. Mike Headley says:

    I am wondering if it is bugbane. Google “photos of bugbane” and it looks similar. According to my flower book, it flowers in the late summer/early fall. Barb

    Like

  5. Celosia spicata, Celosia is a small genus of edible and ornamental plants in the amaranth family, Amaranthaceae. Species are commonly known as woolflowers.

    Like

  6. Sherrie Wade says:

    Sorry, I do not know the name, but the photo is great with the brilliant pink and interesting background.

    S

    Like

Leave a Reply

