Helping Mom

Christmas Cookies

Christmas Cookies

Helping my Mom make Christmas cookies is a fond memory for me.  I got to do things in the kitchen during Christmas that I never thought of doing the rest of the year.   Licking the cookie dough off the mixing beaters was a real treat, even if my tongue wouldn’t reach all the way through the back of the beaters.

Next, after Mom rolled out the dough, was pressing out various-shaped cookies using molds: Santas, stars, reindeer, bells, Christmas trees, etc.  My favorite mold was the giant ginger bread man. Then we decorated the shapes with colored frosting and sprinkles.  We didn’t use M&M’s, licorice, or chocolate chips — that would have been too extravagant.

I probably could have helped my Mom make cookies any other time of the year, but I was always outside playing.  Besides, doing it just once a year made it special, like I was getting bonus time with my Mom.  It sure was fun, and I made a big mess of the kitchen, but Mom never got mad; it must have been the spirit of the season.

Making Christmas cookies is a memory that I cherish every year at this time.

Thought for the Day:  Mother had a great deal of trouble with me, but I think she enjoyed it.    Mark Twain

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Helping Mom

  1. Sherrie Wade says:

    Doesn’t it make your heart feel good to see your children creating the same wonderful memories that you experienced? That means you and Verna were great parents, too!

    Sherrie

    Like

Leave a Reply

