Going Home

Late Arrival

Late Arrival

I just returned from a week in Florida; I got home Saturday night, but my luggage didn’t arrive until the next day.  Yeah, I found it in the snow the next morning.

Sanibel Island is a gorgeous place this time of year, with sunny skies, tropical plants, and wind chill in the 80’s.  My suitcase weighed less than 40 pounds when I left home, but was 10 lbs heavier coming back, all sea shells my wife collected on the beach in front of our condo.  (Geez, do you know how many shells it takes to make even one pound?)  It was nice to get away from the Midwest winter for awhile, but then nothing beats going home.

Every winter I ask myself, why do I live in the Midwest?  The temperature extremes from summer to winter are similar to Siberia–a little know fact from Cliff Claven.  But, then I think about my kids, grandkids and most of my family that live here.  Why would I want to live anywhere else?

Thought for the Day:  A man travels the world over in search of what he needs and returns home to find it.   George Moore

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going Home

  1. I think you should have stayed a little longer. Right now my granddaughter is asking me why I stay on this hill and why I don’t drive an SUV? I wonder myself. Love your updates and photos.
    Your friend, Karen

    Like

  2. Sherrie Wade says:

    So True. Hope you had a fabulous time in Paradise.

    Sherrie

    Like

Leave a Reply

