Sanibel Island, Florida

Sanibel Causeway

Sanibel Causeway

On the day I returned from Sanibel Island, Florida, the ground hog saw his shadow, which means we have six more weeks of winter.   Ugh!   Last night we had 3-4″ of snow, which we badly needed, but I could sure do without the high winds and single digit temps.

While processing photos from my trip, I came across this photo.  It was early morning and I was walking on the beach on the southern tip of the island, down near the light house and fishing pier.  I came down here to get a picture of the causeway, the only connection between the Florida mainland and Sanibel Island.

The pelicans and egrets were showing off for me as they gathered their breakfast. Although I didn’t catch any of the pelicans diving in the water, it was quite a show.

Thought for the Day:  I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.  Anonymous

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sanibel Island, Florida

  1. Sherrie Wade says:

    We have 4 inches on the ground and more to come this weekend, so have a tiny idea of what you’ve been experiencing all winter. The wind was fierce here, too, so sure makes it difficult to get out and about. School was closed today and suppose it would seem like “lightweight stuff” for all of you, but the mess last night on the roads was reason enough to keep as many home as possible. It sure is beautiful, though, and we need the moisture.

    Sherrie

    Like

Leave a Reply

