Iowa State Fair

Iowa State Fair

Iowa State Fair

I submitted four photos to the Iowa State Fair and two were selected to be displayed at the Fair’s 75th Annual Photographic Salon.   About 4,000 entries were made from over 1,000 photographers from 20 states, but only 22% were selected to be displayed at the salon..

This is the photo I submitted in the People category, a picture of my grandson’s first bath after his birth.  The subject of the photo, now 2, is being held by his father next to the photo.

My photos didn’t win any ribbons or honorable mention, but I was happy to have them selected in my first attempt at the Iowa State Fair.  I guess I made the team, but rode the bench.  Maybe next year I’ll get some playing time.

Thought for the Day:  Do not lose hold of your dreams or aspirations.  For if you do, you may still exist, but you have ceased to live.   Henry David Thoreau

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Odds & Ends and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Iowa State Fair

  1. Sherrie Wade says:

    Wonderful! It sure inspires you to keep looking for great photo opts.

    S

    Like

  2. Congratulations. I don’t know much about Art, but I know who I like.

    Like

Leave a Reply

