Yukon Gold

Potatoes

Yukon Gold

When I was a young lad, my Mom would say, “Jeepers!  Look at that DIRT behind your ears, you could grow potatoes in there!”  Then the wash rag would scrub all the skin off the back of my ears.

I didn’t really know what she meant by that, but from the sound of her voice, I could tell I was dirty.  But, why would I want to plant potatoes behind my ears?

I just finished digging this year’s crop of potatoes, Yukon Golds.  As I was turning over the soil, my mother’s words came back to me.  Yeh, it takes a lot of dirt to grow potatoes.

Thought for the Day:  A lucky person is someone who plants pebbles and harvests potatoes.   Greek Proverb

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yukon Gold

  1. Sherrie Wade says:

    Yum! Those potatoes look fantastic. I didn’t have room for them this year, but have a bumper crop of acorn squash almost ready to harvest. We are loving our “Early Girl” tomatoes now.

    Just love all that sun on our garden!

    Sherrie

    Like

Leave a Reply

