Something’s Missing

What's The Point

What’s The Point!?

I like this photo, it has a lot going for it.  I love the strong diagonal lines, I like the tension created by the intersecting lines, and I like the sharp focus.  Perhaps it’s a little on the dark side, maybe bump the exposure up a tad, but overall, I like this image.

But, something’s missing.  There is no center of interest.  This is a classic example of the Big Question a photographer should ask himself every time he poses a shot, “What’s the point?”   Why are you taking this shot?   Every shot, and I mean every shot, needs a point of interest.

I took this shot because I fell in love with the intersecting diagonal lines, strong composition elements.  Ok, big deal, but it has nothing to hold my attention.  My eyes wander around the image looking for something of interest, something to attract my eye, something to hold my interest.  I find nothing.

Thought for the Day:  There is nothing so annoying as a good example.   Mark Twain

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Odds & Ends and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

