Moon Eclipse

Moon Eclipse - 2015

Moon Eclipse – 2015

This image is a composite of three moon shots taken over a twelve hour period, ending with a full eclipse on Saturday morning, April 4, 2015, at 7:05 AM.

The moon in the upper left was shot around 7:30 PM as the moon was rising the night before.  It was supposed to be a super-moon, but it didn’t look that much bigger to me.  At any rate, it’s probably the best detailed moon shot I’ve ever gotten.

The next morning, the eclipse began at 5:00 AM.   The middle moon in the image above was shot at 6:20 AM, already about 3/4 eclipsed.  Why didn’t I get a shot at 5:30, you ask? Uhhh, I hit the snooze button once too often.

The moon shot in the lower right was taken at 6:40 AM.  The sun was brightening the sky behind me, and the moon was losing its own light; I could barely find the moon looking through the lens.   Three minutes later, the moon was completely invisible.  I never did see it set at 7:09.

Thought for the Day:   If you snooze, you lose.

 

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Photojournalism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

