Pelican

Pelican - Florida

Pelican – Florida

Shooting pelicans is fun … with a camera, but not easy to catch them in flight.  Getting a good shot of them bobbing around in the water is fairly easy, but not near as rewarding.

I was in Marco Island the last week in February, on a commercial pier waiting for my dolphin cruise to start.  The pelicans were plentiful — must be a lot of fish cleaning done there.  Pelicans are a lot faster than they look; it took me a while to adjust my panning of the camera to match their speed.  This is the best shot I got, not fabulous, but worth showing for my first attempt.

The dolphin cruise captain arrived before I was ready to quit, but will certainly try this again when I get the chance.

Thought for the Day:  If we all did the things we were capable of doing, we would literally astound ourselves.                                                                           Thomas Edison

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Travel, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pelican

  1. I can get good photos with multiple shots when the shrimp boats come back into port. Sometimes we get as many as a few hundred pelicans that wait around for the discarded fish.

    Like

  2. Chuck L. says:

    Larry, great photo! Reminds me of something I learned long ago:
    What an amazing bird is the Pelican,
    It’s beak can hold more than its belly can.
    But I don’t know how the hell it can!

    Keep the great photos and words of wisdom coming. Chuck

    Like

Leave a Reply

