Barrel Racing

barrel racer

barrel racer

I was in Wahoo, Nebraska last week, attending the Saunders County Fair, where my granddaughter was competing in three horsemanship events.  I like these small-town events because photographers have good access to almost everything.

While waiting for my granddaughter’s turn at barrel racing,  I got up close to the arena fence to take some test shots.  This shot got my lens covered with dust and my mouth full of dirt.  Okay, time to back up and use the telephoto lens.

Boy, those horses are BIG!

Thought for the Day:  When you’re young and you fall off a horse, you may break something.   When you’re my age, you splatter.                              Roy Rogers

 

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Photojournalism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Barrel Racing

  1. Harriet Golter says:

    We are slow responding to this, but we’ve had some computer problems. Anyway what great timing you had to get that shot! We really liked the picture as we like a lot of your’s. H and G

    Like

  2. Don Rathgeber says:

    Larry, In spite of the dirt in the face, you got an excellent shot. Good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

