Summer’s End

Rope Swing

Rope Swing

Hey!  Where’d everybody go?  It’s only mid-September, and I haven’t seen a soul for weeks.  I’m hanging here, limp and lifeless, all by myself without anyone to keep me company, not even an occasional rattle from the cottonwood leaves.

I have a feeling that I’d better get ready for nine months of loneliness.  I’ll hang on as best I can through the cold bitter winter.  The memories of the kids splashing in the water, motor boats whizzing by, kayaks and paddle boards moving lazily close to shore, fisherman, young and old, casting their lines off the dock, and sounds of laughter coming from all directions across the lake will sustain me through the seemingly endless cold and lonely nights.

Just the thought of tiny wet hands choking me above the knots and gleeful squeals falling away as I swing back for another rider is worth hanging around for another summer.                                                                                                                       Your faithful an loyal friend,                                                                                                                         Rope Swing

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Odds & Ends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

