Ibis?

Ibis?

Ibis?

From the long curving beak, I’d guess this is an Ibis, but every other Ibis I’ve seen on Sanibel Island is white.  Maybe it’s a young one, but he/she was about the size of other Ibis I observed.

I found it hunting for breakfast one early morning in a small shallow pond.  A Great Egret caught my eye first, which attracted me to the area.  Then I spotted “what’s his name”.

If you know what this is, please let me know.

Thought for the Day:   You used to ask a smart person a question.  Now, who do you ask?  It starts with “g-o”, and its not God.                                          Steve Wozniak

About Larry's blog

THINGS I LOVE: Family, Friends, Photography and College Football. THINGS I LIKE: reading, sports,travel, straight shooters, sense of humor, hand-crafted beers, nature, golf, organization, my wife's cooking, the USA, movies of all types except sci-fi, blueberries, National Parks, music (especially light jazz)of all types except opera and rap, licorice, punctuality,woodworking, dogs and clean underwear.
This entry was posted in Photojournalism, Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ibis?

  1. Juvenile American White ibis are anything but white. Starting life in various shades of coffee and becoming whiter with every molt until the end of the third year, when the mature bird completes its finery of white feathers with distinctive black wing tips. https://incidentalnaturalist.files.wordpress.com/2016/03/dsc_0686.jpg?w=1480

    DSC_0686

    Like

Leave a Reply

